Digital Hub

Conservatoire staff

Excellent staff, passionate about what they do

We are unable to list all our staff on one page, however you can find details of our Heads of Department below. More comprehensive staff information including contact details and biographies are available in the relevant programme section.

Senior Management Team

  • Principal – Professor Jeffrey Sharkey
  • Director of Music – Dr Gordon Munro
  • Director of Drama, Dance, Production and Screen – Hugh Hodgart
  • Conservatoire Secretary – Ewan Hainey
  • Director of Finance and Estates – Alan Smith
  • Director of Human Resources – Jackie Russell
  • Director of Academic Innovation – Andrew Comrie
  • Director of External Relations – Janette Harkess

Heads of Programmes

  • Head of Postgraduate Programmes and Research – Dr Stephen Broad
  • Head of BMus and Creative and Contextual Studies – Helen McVey
  • Associate Head of BMus and CCS – Diana Salazar
  • Head of BEd – John Gormley
  • Head of Traditional Music – Dr Joshua Dickson
  • Head of MMus – Dr J Simon van der Walt

Music departments

  • Head of Brass – John Logan
  • Head of Composition – Dr Gordon McPherson
  • Head of Jazz – Professor Tommy Smith
  • Head of Guitar and Harp – Professor Allan Neave
  • Head of Keyboard – Professor Aaron Shorr
  • Head of Opera – Tim Dean
  • Head of Timpani and Percussion – Kurt-Hans Goedicke
  • Head of Vocal Performance – Professor Stephen Robertson
  • Head of Woodwind – Heather Nicoll
  • Head of Strings – David Watkin
  • Artistic Director of Traditional Music – Professor Phil Cunningham

Drama, Dance, Production and Screen

  • Artistic Director of Musical Theatre – Andrew Panton
  • Head of Classical and Contemporary Text – Mark Saunders
  • Head of Acting – Joyce Deans
  • Head of BA Performance in BSL and English – Claire Lamont
  • Head of Performance Pedagogy – Deborah Richardson-Webb
  • Head of Production – Ros Maddison
  • Head of Screen – Adam McIlwaine
  • Head of Modern Ballet – Kerry Livingstone
  • Head of Voice and the Centre for Voice in Performance – Jean Sangster


  • Head of Estates – Gary Brunton
  • Head of Information Services – Caroline Cochrane
  • Head of Junior Conservatoire – Jenn Adams
  • Academic Registrar – Suzanne Daly
  • Head of Technical Production – Lynfryn Mackenzie