Sat 5th Oct
New Cumnock Town Hall, 31-33 Castle, New Cumnock, Cumnock KA18 4AN
Book Now
Content Tabs:
Lewis Banks Saxophone
Marianna Abrahamyan Piano
Jay Capperauld Composer
Paul Wright Film Director

Afterlife is a cutting-edge new music and film project based around the fictional work Sum by bestselling author David Eagleman. Sum - 40 Tales from the Afterlives is a collection of vignettes exploring possibilities of postdeath scenarios which, as well as revealing unexpected and inventive possibilities for the afterlife, provides us with a lens through which to view our current lives with striking clarity. The performance will consist of a new work by the rising star Scottish composer Jay Capperauld, whose thrilling conceptual works have been broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on numerous occasions and has attracted commissions by the likes of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestras and the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland. The music will be performed by two prizewinning graduates of the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Lewis Banks (Saxophone) and Marianna Abrahamyan (Piano), whose combined abilities as a musical duo have earned them debut recitals at top London venues such as The Purcell Room and St Martin in the Fields in 2019. The performance will also seamlessly integrate a number of short films from Manchester-based director Paul Wright, whose recent film Fissure has been subject to strong critical acclaim.

New music from New Cumnock composer Jay Capperauld in New Cumnock Town Hall, which combines his expert writing for his own instrument (the saxophone) and piano with a wonderful new film, inspired by a profound literary and philosophical reflection on what happens after we die – a truly special way to spend Saturday afternoon at The Tryst.
Sir James MacMillan

Approx running time 75 mins, no interval.

Saturday 5th October

Begins at 16:30

Price Band A
Full Price £12.00
Under 26 £9.00
Wheelchair User £12.00
16 and under (free with paying adult) £9.00
Cumnock Tryst Local Resident* £9.00