Paste this code immediately after the opening tag:
Digital Hub
X

Students’ Union

Welcome to the RCS Students’ Union

RCS Students’ Union is the lively, colourful heart of the student experience at the Conservatoire and the great thing is every student is automatically a member. Whether it’s helping to get you settled into this exciting chapter of your life or making events to celebrate diversity within the Conservatoire – RCSSU is all about benefiting you as a student.

We’re here from the beginning

Welcoming international students off the plane
Helping move your luggage into Liberty House
Showing you the famous nightlife & scenery that Glasgow & Scotland has to offer during Fresher’s Week
Being there as you take a leap into this new part of your life

During your studies…
We’re right here, our office is located at the Renfrew Street building
Working with staff across the Conservatoire to improve your education
Working with the National Union of Students, Association of European Conservatoire’s Student Group and Conservatoire UK Student Network to amplify your voice nationally and internationally
Being an informal ear when you’re experiencing things like homesickness and financial challenges

Coming together…
Celebrating through Ceilidh’s, balls, trips, nights out (and in)
Being a platform to set up societies so you can meet others who care about what you do
Providing opportunities to stay active through RCS Sports
Building links with nearby Universities to facilitate exciting cross-art form collaborations

Say “hello”:
President – Will Stringer – SUPresident@rcs.ac.uk
Vice-President – Aidan Teplitzky – SUVPresident@rcs.ac.uk
Secretary – Jasmine Munns SUSecretary@rcs.ac.uk

If you’d like to get in touch by email with a current student from your course prior to your arrival we have a number of Student Experience Representatives who will act as ‘buddies’ and answer any questions you have about settling in to life in Glasgow. They’ll also be more than happy to meet up with you during Welcome and Transitions Week in September if you wish to arrange this. The Reps are selected by programme of study for the School of Dance, Drama, Production and Film and by department within the School of Music.

They are elected each year in a manner decided by the SU Council and their role, as well as that of ‘buddy’ to new students, is to represent student interests within the Student Union Council and other relevant committees. They focus on customary governance, estate and other transitional matters relating to students. The remit differs from that of a Programme Committee Representative who seek feedback from students directly related to their programme of study. Your Student Experience Representatives for the academic year 2017/18 (and the summer break preceding this) are as follows:

School of Dance, Drama, Production and Film

BA Acting – Sam Brown SBrown@rcs.ac.uk

BA Musical Theatre – Adam Williamson AWilliamson@rcs.ac.uk

BA Contemporary Performance Practice – Craig McCorquodale CMcCorquodale@rcs.ac.uk and Yasmin Mawer YMawer@rcs.ac.uk

BA Production Arts and Design – Katy Meehan KMeehan@rcs.ac.uk

BA Production Technology and Management – Susannah McWhirter SMcwhirter@rcs.ac.uk

BA Filmmaking – Kieran Howe KHowe@rcs.ac.uk and Joanna Ellis JEllis@rcs.ac.uk

MA Classical and Contemporary Text and MA Musical Theatre – Jennifer Hart JHart@rcs.ac.uk

BA Modern Ballet – Will Stringer SUPresident@rcs.ac.uk

BA Performance in British Sign Language and English – Ciaran Stewart CStewart4@rcs.ac.uk

School of Music

Brass – Will Stringer SUPresident@rcs.ac.uk

Composition – Aidan Teplitzky ATeplitzky@rcs.ac.uk

Guitar and Harp – Hollie Fyfe HFyfe@rcs.ac.uk

Jazz – Joshua Elcock JElcock@rcs.ac.uk

Keyboard – Alexandra Standing AStanding@rcs.ac.uk

Strings – Joseph Hodson JHodson@rcs.ac.uk and Keena Wildman KWildman@rcs.ac.uk

Timpani and Percussion – Aidan Teplitzky ATeplitzky@rcs.ac.uk

Traditional Music – Taran Vear TVear@rcs.ac.uk

Vocal Studies – Ellen Mawhinney EMawhinney@rcs.ac.uk

Woodwind – John Craig JCraig@rcs.ac.uk

BEd – Rebecca Marshall RMarshall1@rcs.ac.uk and Marc Gilmour MGilmour@rcs.ac.uk

Research – Ankna Arockiam AArockiam@rcs.ac.uk