Skip to main content

What's On Page Navigation

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

RCS Symphony Orchestra

Tchaikovsky ‘Symphony No.6, Pathétique’

26 April 2024

Classical Music

Page Navigation

Julia Perry A Short Piece for Orchestra
George Gershwin An American in Paris
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Symphony No.6 ‘Pathétique’


RCS Symphony Orchestra


Riley Court-Wood Conductor

Oliver Cope Conductor

Vassily Sinaisky Conductor

The concert will open with ‘A Short Piece for Orchestra’ by African-American composer, Julia Perry. Composed in the early 1950’s in Italy, she then went on to study with Nadia Boulanger in Paris, and in acknowledgement to her as a genuine American in Paris, the orchestra will also perform Gershwin’s ‘An American in Paris’.

Concluding the concert, the orchestra will perform Tchaikovsky ‘Symphony No.6, Pathétique’, which was premiered, (and conducted by the composer himself) only 9 days before his death.

Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Runtime: 2 Hours

Price: £4 – £16